free site statistics
Rake's Honour - Beverley Oakley

Rake's Honour

Author Beverley Oakley

  • Published: 2016-02-06
  • Category: Historical


Beautiful, impoverished Fanny Brightwell has a few scores to settle—and a heart to win—before she can secure the wealthy, aristocratic husband her ambitious mama demands.

Fanny is used to trading on her wits and Patrician beauty to ensure her family retains its tenuous hold on respectability. While her reprobate brother gambles away their fortune, and her feather-brained sister threatens to destroy the girls’ collective reputation by succumbing to any lure cast her way, Fanny is regarded as the Brightwell family’s saviour.

Pressured by her mother into accepting a marriage offer from lecherous Lord Slyther, a desperately unhappy Fanny is given one final opportunity to withdraw from her nuptials—provided she secures an equally rich and titled suitor within two weeks. For if Fanny doesn't make a good match, she and her sister can look forward to a lifetime attending to Great Aunt Seraphina's chilblains.

During a single lapse of good judgment one evening while in masquerade as a fairy sprite, Fanny tumbles into the arms of dashing rakish Viscount Fenton.

And, for the first time, tumbles into love.

Wonderful Lord Fenton, who is on the hunt for a demure and virtuous bride, is just the man to satisfy the exacting criteria of both Fanny's mama—and herself.

But Fanny's marital ambitions can only be realised if Lord Fenton remains in ignorance of the fact that Fanny was the water sprite with whom he took such liberties at Vauxhall Gardens one fateful night.

Heat rating: Sizzling. A lot more than chaste kissing and decorous debutante behaviour occurs in this book. 

Rake's Honour is Book 1 in the Scandalous Miss Brightwell Series (originally published as the Beautiful, Brazen Brightwells).

Book 1: Rake's Honour 
Book 2: Rogue's Kiss
Book 3: Devil's Run (Coming Soon)